Legal marijuana sales began in Montana on January 1, 2022 – a little over one year since 56 percent of voters approved a ballot initiative for the reform.
Here’s a rundown of what you need to know about Montana’s new marijuana laws.
Who is allowed to buy marijuana in Montana?
Any adult 21 and older with valid ID can legally purchase marijuana products in Montana.
Where can I buy marijuana in Montana?
Not all Montanans are able to buy recreational cannabis in their jurisdictions. Only so-called “green counties” that had a majority vote in favor are able to legally purchase marijuana. Residents of “red counties” that voted against legal cannabis sales will not have marijuana dispensaries, unless voters approve the change in another vote.
Kristan Barbour, division administrator for the Montana Department of Revenue’s Cannabis Control Division, estimates around 380 recreational dispensaries have now opened their doors to customers.
What can I buy at a marijuana dispensary in Montana?
Customers can purchase up to one ounce of cannabis flower, and/or its equivalent in edibles (800 mg) and concentrates (eight grams).
Are there marijuana possession limits in Montana?
Possessing quantities greater than one ounce remains illegal, with amounts between one and two ounces considered a civil infraction punishable by a fine of up to $500. Possessing amounts greater than this is still a felony offense that could result in a $45,000 fine and up to five years in prison.
Can I consume marijuana in public in Montana?
Consuming cannabis in public is a civil infraction subject to a $50 fine.
Can I grow my own cannabis plants?
Adults 21 and older can grow up to two mature plants and two seedlings at home for personal use. These cannot be publicly visible.
Are recreational cannabis sales taxed?
Adult-use cannabis sales are taxed by the state at 20 percent, while counties can decide whether or not to impose an additional tax at a maximum of four percent.
Medical marijuana sales remain taxed at a maximum of four percent.
Who can sell recreational cannabis in Montana?
Until July 1, 2023, only medical marijuana businesses that had a license prior to November 4, 2020, are permitted to apply for recreational cannabis business licenses.
What are the driving laws concerning marijuana in Montana?
It remains illegal to drive under the influence of cannabis. Law enforcement have the authority to take a driver to a hospital for a DUI test if there is reasonable suspicion they’ve consumed marijuana.
First offenses can result in 24 hours to six months in prison as well as a fine between $300 and $1,000.
It is legal to travel with up to one ounce of cannabis in a vehicle, but it must be unopened in its original packaging and not within reach. This means stored in a locked glove compartment, trunk, or some other area that is not used by the driver or passenger while driving.
Failure to abide by these restrictions is punishable by a maximum fine of $100.